NYC in London….

As a chef people always ask what my favourite type of cuisine is. I don’t have any one particular favourite type of cuisine but I definitely have a few favourites. One of them being New York style deli and breakfast bars. I love the indulgency of this type of food and when its done right it’s definitely a real treat.

The problem is, I find so many places try to replicate this style but it never seems to have that true authentic hearty NYC vibe.

Instagram is amazing and such a great tool for sharing and discovering food but I have discovered recently that it can be  quite deceiving. I’ve trekked half way across London to research cafes/eateries which have looked amazing on instargram but have been such a let down in real life.

This is all definitely not the case when it comes to Delancey and Co.

IMG_7131

I came across this little gem on instagram and it had been cropping up on feed for weeks and kept catching my eye. Describing itself as ‘a modern New York deli’ I was intrigued but also reluctant to get my hopes up as this is a typical description for so many shabby, processed food delis serving days old bagels making them feel entitled to call themselves a New York deli.

IMG_7156

I’m so glad I gave Delancey and Co a chance. Located on Goodge street, the food is definitely a taste of NYC in the heart of London. They offer all the NY favorites; salt beef, turkey and hand cut smoked salmon. They’re very own marble sourdough was so soft and pillowy and the perfect surrounding for the tasty fillings inside.

IMG_7158

It definitely has the real comfort feel of an authentic NY deli. I only managed to eat half the very generous portion they served me.

IMG_7157

Oh and most importantly, they serve prosecco on tap!! I mean! This gave me my NY fix for a while and restored my faith in Instagram. Thanks Delancey and Co. 🙂

Leave a Reply

